Tour of Britain Race Director Mick Bennett was among seven new inductees into the British Cycling Hall of Fame last week at their International Gala Dinner in Manchester.

Members of the public were asked to nominate figures who have been instrumental in the sport, whether they’re a rider, coach, administrator or volunteer. A shortlist was then drawn up by the Hall of Fame selection panel, which included three-time Olympic champion, Ed Clancy, and was chaired by British Cycling president, Bob Howden.

Mick, a double Olympic medallist and Commonwealth Champion as a rider on the track and Race Director of the Tour of Britain since its revival in 2004, was inducted onto the list that includes the likes of Sir Chris Hoy, Beryl Burton and Chris Boardman.

Commenting on the news, Mick Bennett said; “I am flattered to be acknowledged in this way and to join the Hall of Fame, which came as a complete surprise to me.  It is an honour to be listed alongside many of the true greats of our sport in this country.
“I have been lucky enough to work with a number of fantastic groups of people during my career, so the award should be taken as a recognition of their hard work, and in particular the past 14-years with SweetSpot Group working on this country’s leading events the Tour of Britain, Tour Series and The Women’s Tour.”

Among those also inducted at the 2016 International Gala Dinner were Bill Owen, former chair of Welsh Cycling and a director of British Cycling, three-time British Champion Keith Lambert and Sir Dave Brailsford.

You can find the full list of members of the British Cycling Hall of Fame by clicking here.

Pictured below – Bill Owen (centre) shakes hands with British Cycling President Bob Howden as he received his Hall of Fame induction, with John Herety (right) a member of the selection panel (Credit, Alex Duffil)