Five-time stage winner André Greipel will spearhead Lotto Soudal’s attack at September’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain, with their six-man line-up also featuring Nottinghamshire’s James Shaw.

Greipel, who has previously won stages in Blackpool, Great Yarmouth, London, Ipswich and Castle Douglas, is one of cycling’s most decorated riders, having claimed over 150 professional victories in his career. Also among the 36-year-old German’s successes are 11 Tour de France and seven Giro d’Italia stage wins.

Race Director Mick Bennett said: “I know I won’t be the only person who is looking forward to seeing André Greipel on the startline of Stage One in Carmarthenshire on Sunday 2 September.

“André has wowed the British crowds time and time again during his many visits to the race.”

British interest comes in the form of fledgling talent James Shaw (22), who made his debut in the race as a stagiare for Lotto Soudal in 2016 and played a key role in Greipel’s most recent stage victory in Castle Douglas. As an amateur, Shaw was supported by the Dave Rayner Fund, for whom Brother MD Phil Jones MBE and endurance cyclist James Golding are attempting to raise £50,000 by riding the entire 2018 OVO Energy Tour of Britain route one day ahead of next month’s race. For more information, and to make a donation, visit

Greipel’s long-standing team-mate Marcel Sieberg, 2011 Tour de France stage winner Jelle Vanendert and Moreno Hofland – who has enjoyed success on British roads before, having taken a stage in the 2015 Tour de Yorkshire – are also included in the Belgian team’s line-up.

Already confirmed for the 2018 OVO Energy Tour of Britain are 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas, and reigning Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a Espana champion Chris Froome, who will ride for Team Sky. Also competing are Team KATUSHA ALPECIN’s Marcel Kittel and Alex Dowsett – both of whom, like Greipel, are former stage winners and race leaders in the event. Further rider announcements will follow in due course; the race’s provisional startlist will be published on Friday 24 August.

For the second year running, each stage of the race will be shown live and in full on ITV4. Presenter Matt Barbet will be joined former pro rider Yanto Barker and Rebecca Charlton, with Marty MacDonald and Rob Hayles providing the commentary. Eurosport will also air daily live coverage.