Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes became the first domestic team to qualify for this year’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain after another strong showing in Sunday’s Stockton GP.

Matt Bostock took second for Tim Elverson’s team in the latest round of the HSBC UK | National Road Series in County Durham, which was also the 11th scoring event of 14 for Britain’s six UCI-registered squads seeking qualification to their national tour (Saturday 7 – 14 September).

Having topped the qualification standings since round one in April, the Hampshire-based team have now scored enough points to gain selection for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain for the third year running. Allowing for their one permitted dropped score, Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes have impressively gained 82 points out of a possible 100 to play for to date.

As well as being the reigning OVO Energy Tour Series champions, the team’s line-up includes Alex Paton, who won the Eisberg sprints jersey in last year’s Tour of Britain.

Standings after round 11

John Archibald continues to lead Ribble Pro Cycling’s late resurgence by taking the honours at Stockton after an incredible solo performance. His team’s haul of 26 points from their last three races tops the 14 they scored from seven other events since April, meaning mathematically they could still qualify for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain despite propping up the table.

Ribble Pro Cycling sit just two points behind Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK, who slipped 12 points away from Team WIGGINS Le Col in fourth.

Madison Genesis continue to sit second in the standings, with SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling (third, 55 points) looking set to qualify for their first-ever OVO Energy Tour of Britain in their inaugural season.

Click here to download the standings after round 11.

Stockton GP finish video

OVO Energy Tour of Britain team qualification process

The qualification process has been devised once again by SweetSpot Group, organisers of the Tour of Britain, and British Cycling, with full consultation of competing teams throughout.

First introduced in 2016, the process establishes a fair and transparent selection of eligible British teams into the race, as well as ensuring full support of the HSBC UK | National Road and Circuit Series, OVO Energy Tour Series, HSBC UK | National Road Championships and the country’s UCI-ranked events each year.

Click here for more information, competing teams, counting race details and scoring details.