The Great Britain Cycling Team – who have ridden 15 of the 18 modern Tours of Britain to date, including every edition since 2012 – will return to the UK’s most prestigious cycle race in September.

Their involvement allows future stars to gain invaluable experience in one of the world’s leading races. Among those who have lined up in the race in home colours are reigning Giro d’Italia champion Tao Geoghegan Hart, 2018 Vuelta a Espana victor Simon Yates and Grand Tour stage winner Hugh Carthy.

Yates is one of three riders to have won a stage of the race riding for GB; he memorably triumphed atop Haytor in the 2013 Tour. Highly-rated sprinter Jake Stewart almost added his name to the roll of honour in Duns on stage two of last year’s race, but was pipped in a photo finish by Dutchman Cees Bol.

Country Great Britain
Founded 1959
Team name abbreviation GBR
Participations 15 (2004 – 2008, 2012 – 2019, 2021 – 2022)
Notable results Four stage victories
Twitter @BritishCycling
31 Ethan Vernon GBR
32 Jack Brough* GBR
33 Josh Giddings* GBR
34 Noah Hobbs* GBR
35 Oliver Wood GBR
36 Stephen Williams GBR

Jersey artwork: @JeroenAnnaert