In the same month that they announced their closure at the end of 2019, Madison Genesis will bow out of the domestic racing scene in style by competing in September’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain.

Roger Hammond’s team became the second squad (after Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes) to gain selection for this year’s edition of the national tour after the 12th qualifying event: the HSBC UK | National Circuit Race Series.

Welsh Commonwealth Games medallist Jon Mould placed third overall in the series’ standings, giving his team their best qualification score in two months and therefore place them mathematically over the line in the Tour of Britain race.

Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes’ Matt Bostock won five of the series’ six races to earn his team another maximum points score in the qualification standings. He missed out on glory in Wednesday night’s Sheffield GP – albeit an event won by his team-mate Ollie Wood.

Founded in 2013, Madison Genesis have competed in the OVO Energy Tour of Britain every year since. Matt Holmes placed second in both the SKODA King of the Mountains and Eisberg sprint competitions last year.

Standings after round 12

In addition to Madison Genesis, the series’ big winners were SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling, for whom George Wood finished fourth overall. Their six points all-but secures them a place in the OVO Energy Tour of Britain for the first time to cap a promising debut season for the Yorkshire-based team.

Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK gained two points on Team WIGGINS Le Col to keep their qualification hopes alive. However, even if Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK took maximum scores from the final two rounds, Team WIGGINS Le Col would only need to place third in both the South Coast Classic and Cycle 360 Manx International to beat them to a much-coveted selection spot.

Sheffield GP video

OVO Energy Tour of Britain team qualification

The qualification process has been devised once again by SweetSpot Group, organisers of the Tour of Britain, and British Cycling, with full consultation of competing teams throughout.

First introduced in 2016, the process establishes a fair and transparent selection of eligible British teams into the race, as well as ensuring full support of the HSBC UK | National Road and Circuit Series, OVO Energy Tour Series, HSBC UK | National Road Championships and the country’s UCI-ranked events each year.

Click here for more information, competing teams, counting race details and scoring details.