This year’s Aviva Tour of Britain on ITV will be presented by Matt Barbet, the presenter of ITV4’s Cycle Show, who will front both the live coverage and highlights of Britain’s biggest professional cycle race.

Joining Barbet will be triple Olympic medallist Rob Hayles, who rode the Tour of Britain on three occasions between 2005 and 2009, and co-presented last year’s edition of the Tour.

It will be an extra special opening stage for Barbet, with Stage One taking place in his home area of North Wales, between Beaumaris and Wrexham, with an intermediate YodelDirect Sprint in Mold, where Barbet went to school. Live coverage of the opening stage will be shown on ITV from 1pm to 4pm.

""“I’ve always enjoyed watching the Aviva Tour of Britain on screen, and in the crowd at several stages, so to present ITV’s coverage is a big privilege and one I’m really excited about,” said Matt Barbet. 

“The race starts on roads I know really well, and still ride now when I’m back home. It also finishes in London again, where I am now based, and again, along famous roads I cycle all the time. On top of that, the field looks like arguably being the best ever, so the racing is undoubtedly going to be of a very high standard.”

Expert commentary will continue to be provided by four time World Champion Hugh Porter MBE and former British Champion Brian Smith.   Following Stage One on ITV, Stages Two to Eight will all be shown live on ITV4, with three-hours of coverage each day.

Barbet will also be joined by JLT Condor presented by Mavic rider Kristian House on the ITV4 highlights programmes.  The former SKODA King of the Mountains in Britain’s biggest bike race will be contesting his tenth edition of the Aviva Tour of Britain but will dovetail riding duties with appearing on the one-hour programme each evening. Find out the ITV schedule for the race by clicking here.

British Eurosport will also show live coverage and highlights of the race in the UK.  Live coverage and highlights will also be shown worldwide in excess of 100 countries.

Coverage of the Aviva Tour of Britain will again be produced by Century TV, who have worked on the Aviva Tour of Britain since 2007.

Among the riders already confirmed for the Aviva Tour of Britain are former winners Dylan Van Baarle (2014), Sir Bradley Wiggins (2013) and Edvald Boasson Hagen (2009) and former stages winners Mark Cavendish, Gerald Ciolek and Andre Greipel, plus three-time World Cyclo-Cross Champion Zden?k Štybar.

The Aviva Tour of Britain is British Cycling’s premier road cycling event giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world’s best teams and riders competing on their door step.