The locations of the ŠKODA King of the Mountains and sprint points for this year’s Tour of Britain, the UK’s most prestigious cycle race, have today been revealed.

As well as serving as popular viewing locations for spectators, the points on offer at each location go towards determining the outcome of the hotly-contested ŠKODA King of the Mountains (KoM) and sprint jerseys.

Taking place between Sunday 4 and 11 September, the 18th edition of the Tour will begin in Aberdeen and finish on the Isle of Wight, with the full timetables for every stage also now confirmed.

The locations of these primes in 2022 are as follows:

Stage one | Aberdeen to Glenshee Ski Centre (Sunday 4 September)

Sprints Inverurie, Alford, Ballater

ŠKODA KoMs Bennachie Forest (Cat.3), Lord’s Throat (Cat.3), Suie Hill (Cat.2), Glenshee Ski Centre (Cat.1)

Stage two | Hawick to Duns (Monday 5 September)

Sprints Morebattle, Coldstream, Reston

ŠKODA KoMs Wanside Rigg (Cat.3), Mainslaughter Law (Cat.3), Hardens Hill (Cat.3)

Stage three | Durham to Sunderland (Tuesday 6 September)

Sprints Stanhope, Bishop Auckland, Ferryhill

ŠKODA KoMs Chapel Fell (Cat.1), Billy Lane (Cat.2), High Moorsley (Cat.3)

Stage four | Redcar to Duncombe Park, Helmsley (Wednesday 7 September)

Sprints Whitby, Stokesley, Newgate Bank

ŠKODA KoMs Robin Hood’s Bay (Cat.1), Egton Bank (Cat.2), Carlton Bank (Cat.1)

Stage five | West Bridgford to Mansfield (Thursday 8 September)

Sprints Edingley, Retford, Clumber Park

ŠKODA KoMs Keyworth (Cat.3), Sparken Hill (Cat.3)

Stage six | Tewkesbury to Gloucester (Friday 9 September)

Sprints Cirencester, Rangeworthy, Dursley

ŠKODA KoMs Round Hill (Cat.2), Withington Hill (Cat.3), Crawley Hill (Cat.2)

Stage seven | West Bay to Ferndown (Saturday 10 September)

Sprints Dorchester, Wareham, Knowlton

ŠKODA KoMs Daggers Gate (Cat.3), Whiteways Hill (Cat.2), Okeford Hill (Cat.2)

Stage eight | Ryde to The Needles (Sunday 11 September)

Sprints Sandown, Yarmouth, Cowes

ŠKODA KoMs Brading Down (Cat.1), Cowleaze Hill (Cat.2), Zig Zag Road (Cat.1), The Needles (Cat.2)

About the jerseys

The points on offer at the ŠKODA King of the Mountains locations is dependent on the severity of the climb: category one peaks offer 10 points for the winner down to one for the 10th-placed finisher, while category three climbs have four, three, two and one point up for grabs.

Former winners of the jersey include 2010 Tour de France champion Andy Schleck (2006) and Grand Tour stage winner Thomas De Gendt (2009). Britain’s Jacob Scott (Wiv SunGod) has won the competition in the past two editions of the race (2019 and 2021).

The prizes on offer at each sprint remain consistent throughout the race: three, two and one point are awarded to the leading trio across the line, all of which go towards the sprints classification. Those riders will also receive bonus seconds of the same denomination.

This competition also features an equally-illustrious roll of honour, with British cycling legend Mark Cavendish (2007) and two-time Tour of Britain champion Edvald Boasson Hagen (2008) among its previous winners. Scott, who hails from Holmfirth in West Yorkshire, is also the defending champion in this competition.

Interactive maps and full timetables for all eight stages are available at

About the Tour of Britain 2022

The 2022 race starts in Aberdeen city centre and finishes eight days later on the Isle of Wight. Along the way riders will tackle stages in the Scottish Borders, North East England, North Yorkshire, Nottinghamshire, Gloucestershire and Dorset.

Six teams – a Great British national squad, the country’s four leading domestic squads (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling, Saint Piran, TRINITY Racing and Wiv SunGod) and Team Qhubeka – are confirmed to race, with the remaining squads to be announced shortly.

ITV4 will continue to broadcast live flag-to-flag coverage of every stage and nightly highlights show, allowing fans in the UK to watch wherever they are. The race will also be shown in over 150 countries worldwide, thanks to the event’s partnerships with Eurosport and the Global Cycling Network.

While spectators can watch all the action by the roadside for free, race day hospitality packages offering guaranteed prime views of stage starts and finishes, as well as unforgettable experiences featuring Tour de France stage winner Dan Martin are now available. Visit and for more information.

Last year’s star-studded race was won by Belgian rider Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo – Visma), with reigning world road race champion Julian Alaphilippe finishing third overall. According to research by Frontline, a roadside crowd of over one million spectators resulted in the Tour of Britain generating £29.96m of net economic benefit for the UK economy.