Tour of Britain 2021 map

After a year’s absence, the 2021 Tour of Britain will take place between Sunday 5 and 12 September.

Our planned route for 2020 – from Penzance to Aberdeen – will be used this year for the 17th edition of the UK’s most prestigious and longest-running international cycle race.

Cornwall will host the race for the first time ever, as the 2021 Grand DĂ©part sees the world’s best riders tackle a stage from Penzance to Bodmin on Sunday 5 September.

The following day sees the race return to Devon, with a stage from the new town of Sherford to Exeter. The latter last hosted a stage finish in the 2014 Tour.

Wales will host two entire stages of the race for the first time ever, if conditions allow, on Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 September, before the Tour heads into northern England for stages between Cheshire and Warrington (stage five) and Cumbria and Gateshead (stage six).

The Scottish Borders return to the event as Hawick hosts the start of stage seven, a day of racing that will culminate with our first-ever stage finish in Edinburgh.

More new ground will be broken for the race’s finale, as Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire hosts stage eight on Sunday 12 September. Not only will the stage mark the first time the Tour has visited the region, it will also be the furthest point north the modern edition of the race has ever reached.