Team Giant Alpecin have confirmed their six rider roster for the Tour of Britain, which will be led by Olympic Games Time Trial Silver medallist Tom Dumoulin, in his first race since Rio.

The 25-year-old who won two stages of this year’s Tour de France took second place in the Time Trial in Brazil earlier this month, establishing him as a rider to watch in the Stage 7 Individual Time Trial in Bristol on Saturday 10 September.

Supporting Dumoulin will be a pair of Dutchmen who were members of Team Giant Alpecin’s Tour de France line-up in Roy Curvers and Ramon Sinkeldam.

A brace of young Dutch stagiares (apprentices) will also ride.  Jochem Hoekstra is a former winner of the Tour of Berlin (2014) who has recently ridden the Vuelta a Burgos and Tour de l’Ain for Team Giant Alpecn.

Alongside him is Max Tusveld, who will turn 23 during Stage Six of the Tour of Britain in Devon.  Tusveld has led both the Tour de Normandie and Istrian Sprint Trophy stage races this year while riding for the Rabobank development team, and is twice a runner up (2014 & 2015) in the Paris Roubaix Espoirs.

The final place in the six rider line-up goes to 23-year-old German sprinter Max Walscheid, who was runner-up in the German National Championships this Summer in a bunch sprint, behind Andre Greipel but ahead of former Tour of Britain stage winners Marcel Kittel and Gerald Ciolek.

Coach Marc Reef said: "The Tour of Britain is a very interesting race with a challenging parcours. The stages present plenty of different opportunities as it will be an open race. We'll take our chances in the sprints and breakaways and with our line-up we'll challenge for stage results.

"Tom returns to racing after his silver medal at the Olympics. He has already proved his capabilities against the clock this season and will be looking for a strong performance at the time trial."

You can find the current provisional rider list for the Tour of Britain on our teams page here.

To find out more about the Bristol Stage presented by OVO Energy, which includes a 15-kilometre individual time trial, please click here.