Former winner Dylan van Baarle and hotly-tipped Russian Pavel Sivakov headline Team INEOS’ six-man squad for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain, which begins in Glasgow on Saturday (7 September).

The pair will be joined by Ireland’s Eddie Dunbar, Michal Golas and Jhonatan Narváez. Reigning British road race champion Ben Swift, whose participation in the race was confirmed last week, completes their line-up.

Van Baarle (pictured below), the 2014 winner of the UK’s biggest cycle race, has since finished fifth (2016) and eighth overall (2015) since being crowned the champion five years ago. The Dutchman formed part of INEOS’ Tour de France team that helped Egan Bernal and Geraint Thomas finish first and second overall in July.

INEOS Tour of Britain

Now in his second year as a professional, Sivakov (22) finished ninth overall in the prestigious Giro d’Italia in May. He also enjoyed overall success in the five-day Tour of the Alps in May, as well as the seven-day Tour of Poland at the start of August.

Irishman Dunbar (22) finished third in this year’s Tour de Yorkshire, while Golas (35, Poland) placed ninth in the 2013 Tour of Britain and won the Eisberg sprints jersey three years earlier. A top-10 finisher in the prestigious Paris-Roubaix and Il Lombardia races, Narváez (22) will make his race debut next week.

Competing riders

Already announced to ride this year’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain is Team Jumbo-Visma Cycling’s Dylan Groenewegen, a four-time Tour de France stage winner. The Dutch sprinter has previously won two stages in the OVO Energy Tour of Britain – in Builth Wells (2016) and Cheltenham (2017).

Mathieu van der Poel, arguably the hottest property in cycling right now, will make his OVO Energy Tour of Britain debut this year. The 24-year-old Dutchman has been one of the standout names of the 2019 cycling season, winning the prestigious Amstel Gold Race in April, as well as becoming World, European and Dutch cyclo-cross champion.

British duo Alex Dowsett (a stage winner in 2011) and Harry Tanfield will lead Team KATUSHA ALPECIN in the race.

Downloads and links

Click here to visit the teams page | Click here to visit the provisional rider list