Rediscover all the action from the 2007 Tour of Britain won by Romain Feillu by the smallest margin in modern race history – 0.49 seconds!

Feillu (Agritubel) pipped Spanish rider Adrián Palmores on countback to become the first Frenchman to claim overall victory.

The fourth edition of the modern Tour of Britain saw the race expand to seven stages and, for the first time, open with a Prologue – held on London’s famed Crystal Palace circuit, synonymous with criterium racing for many decades.

Britain’s Mark Cavendish won two stages of the race while future star Matt Goss triumphed in Wolverhampton. The race also visited the cities of Southampton, Worcester, Liverpool and Glasgow, with the latter hosting the finale of the Tour – the first time the race had ended outside of London since its rebirth in 2004.

This newly-digitised footage comes from BBC’s iconic Grandstand programme; the 2007 race was the last to be shown on the national broadcaster, with ITV4 taking over the rights from the following year.

Presented by Jill Douglas, with commentary from Hugh Porter and Chris Boardman.

Want to watch on YouTube? Click here for our highlights playlist. 

Prologue: London Crystal Palace

Stage one: Reading to Southampton

Stage two: Yeovilton to Taunton

Stage three: Worcester to Wolverhampton

Stage four: Rotherham to Bradford

Stage five: Liverpool to Kendal

Stage six: Dumfries to Glasgow