New Year’s Eve marks the official retirement for a number of professional riders each year, and the class of those hanging up their wheels in 2018 features a handful who have featured heavily – and achieved success – in recent editions of the OVO Energy Tour of Britain.

Here we take a look at those who’ll be departing the peloton and the impact they had on Britain’s most prestigious cycle race. We present to you the 2018 retirees roll of honour…

David Lopez

Team Sky (37)

David Lopez (left) paces Sir Bradley Wiggins and future team-mate Michal Kwiatkowski towards the finish line on The Tumble, 2014 Stage Three.

Tour of Britain record

Fourth overall, 2013; 11th overall, 2014

We’ll remember…

Two months after the Spaniard helped Chris Froome win his first Tour de France in 2013, Lopez placed third atop Haytor in the Tour of Britain’s first-ever summit finish. He also finished sixth in the rain-soaked individual time trial at Knowsley three days into that year’s race, which was won overall by his Sky team-mate Sir Bradley Wiggins. Lopez’s biggest career win was a stage in 2010 Vuelta a Espana.

Borut Bozic

Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team (38)

Bozic (right) outsprints Team Sky’s Greg Henderson to win Stage Seven in 2010.

Tour of Britain record

Second overall (and one stage win), 2010

We’ll remember…

Who he? Well, the Slovenian has one of the best records of any rider in Tour of Britain. He rode it once, winning one stage (the penultimate day of the 2010 edition from Bury St Edmunds to Colchester), and placed second twice (in Teignmouth and Great Yarmouth). Bozic also won a stage of the Vuelta a Espana in 2009 and finished second in the 2013 edition of Gent Wevelgem behind Peter Sagan during his 12-year professional career.

Filippo Pozzato

Wilier Trestina – Selle Italia (37)

Filippo Pozzato Tour of Britain Sheffield retirement

The Quick Step rider soloed to a dominant win in Sheffield during the 2006 race.

Tour of Britain record

Third overall (and one stage win), 2006; 26th overall, 2009

We’ll remember…

The Italian rider was never going to win the 2006 Tour after missing the race-winning break that succeeded on day one, but his consistent performances throughout the week made him best of the rest as he finished third overall. He won that year’s Yorkshire leg, held in inclement weather from Bradford to Sheffield, six months after triumphing in the prestigious Milan-Sanremo one-day race. Pozzato then went on to finish ninth on The Mall in the race’s final stage after helping team-mate Tom Boonen claim the win. While riding for Katusha, he finished twice in two stages in the 2009 race – most memorably setting up British team-mate Ben Swift for his first professional victory.

Mat Hayman

Mitchelton-SCOTT (40)

Hayman and his Sky team-mates Bernie Eisel and Tour of Britain stage winner Ian Stannard control the peloton as the 2013 race approaches the summit finish atop Haytor, Devon.

Tour of Britain record

25th overall, 2011; 32nd overall, 2010; 72nd overall, 2013

We’ll remember…

Although the Australian – who famously won Paris-Roubaix in 2016 – is retiring after January’s Tour Down Under, 2018 marks his final full season as a pro. Hayman rode three editions of the Tour of Britain for Team Sky, including the 2013 race won by team-mate Wiggins. Sixth into Exmouth on Stage Five in 2011 (behind HTC-Highroad’s Mark Renshaw and Mark Cavendish) was his best individual result.

Bram Tankink

Team LottoNL-Jumbo (40)

Tankink starts our individual time trial in London, Stage 8a, 2011.

Tour of Britain record

15th overall, 2015; 19th overall, 2011; 29th overall, 2014

We’ll remember…

Riding for Belkin Pro Cycling in the 2015 race, the Dutchman finished between 20th and 29th in seven of our eight stages (but never higher) en route to 15th overall, two minutes exactly behind winner Edvald Boasson Hagen. Tankink also formed part of the Rabobank line-up in 2011 when compatriot and team-mate Lars Boom claimed the first of his two overall victories to date.

Stef Clement

Team LottoNL-Jumbo (36)

Stef Clement retirement Tour of Britain

The Dutchman (left, in IAM colours) corners during our London finale in 2015.

Tour of Britain record

20th overall, 2015

We’ll remember…

The four-time Dutch time trial champion rode a solid, if unspectacular, Tour of Britain in 2015. He finished 4’57” behind winner Edvald Boasson Hagen, but placed 20th overall by virtue of making the decisive split on the sixth stage from Stoke-on-Trent to Nottingham, when 76 out of the day’s 106 finishers finished nearly 46 minutes behind the group of GC contenders.

Matt Brammeier

Aqua Blue Sport (33)

Brammeier (right) wore the distinctive Irish champion’s jersey during the 2011 Tour of Britain.

Tour of Britain record

52nd overall, 2010; 71st overall, 2011; 72nd overall, 2005

We’ll remember…

Brammeier officially retired in June to take up a coaching role with British Cycling’s Academy. The Irishman actually made his debut in the 2005 edition riding for Team Wales, and went on to finish two more editions of the race as part of the An Post-Sean Kelly and HTC-Highroad squads.

Philip Deignan

Team Sky (35)

Tour of Britain record

DNF, 2013

We’ll remember…

Deignan goes down in cycling history as one of just eight Irish riders who have won a Grand Tour stage (he was victorious in Stage 18 of the 2009 Vuelta a Espana). Sadly, four years later – to the day – he broke his collarbone during our individual time trial stage around Knowsley, and never returned to the race. Deignan and his wife Lizzie recently became parents to their first child, Orla.

Alan Marangoni

Nippo-Vini Fantini-Europa Ovini (34)

Marangoni (far right, in green) sprints to fifth in Yeovil, Stage Seven, 2009. The aforementioned Pozzato (left) celebrates with team-mate Ben Swift.

Tour of Britain record

47th overall, 2015; 56th overall, 2009; 68th overall, 2013

We’ll remember…

The Italian rider spent five years riding at WorldTour level, during which he completed two editions of the Tour of Britain with the Cannondale team. He actually made his debut in the race while riding for the second division CSF team in 2009, placing fifth in Yeovil on the penultimate day, 24 hours after finishing seventh in Bideford.

Click here to take a look back at those riders who retired from professional cycling in 2017.