The 2021 Tour of Britain will once again attract a star-studded field. Check who is riding this year’s race with our announcement tracker.

Between now and Tuesday 31 August, when the full provisional start list is revealed, we’ll be unveiling those star riders set to compete in the UK’s biggest bike race.

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish, the greatest sprinter of all time, was confirmed as the first rider for this year’s Tour of Britain (Sunday 5 to 12 September).

The Manxman, who has won more stages of the modern Tour than any other rider – 10 – will lead his Belgian Deceuninck – Quick-Step team at the UK’s biggest race.

Wout van Aert

Tokyo 2020 Olympic medallist and six-time Tour de France stage winner Wout van Aert will make his Tour of Britain debut this September.

Van Aert will lead the Dutch Jumbo-Visma team at the UK’s biggest cycle race off the back of winning the prestigious final stage of the Tour de France on the Champs-Élysées in Paris and claiming silver in the Tokyo 2020 road race within the space of six days last month.

Julian Alaphilippe

French star and reigning UCI road world champion Julian Alaphilippe will return to the Tour of Britain next month for the first time since winning the UK’s leading race in 2018.

Alaphilippe, a team-mate of Mark Cavendish, will be be easily recognisable to the many spectators who line the route owing to the historic rainbow jersey that he is entitled to wear.

Final start list

Start list confirmed at 5:30pm, Saturday 4 September. 

Click here to download a PDF start list.

Alpecin – Fenix

1 Xandro Meurisse BEL
2 Silvan Dilllier SUI
3 Jimmy Janssens BEL
4 Ben Tulett GBR
5 Alexandar Richardson GBR
6 Kristian Sbaragli ITA

Deceuninck – Quick-Step

11 Mark Cavendish GBR
12 Julian Alaphilippe FRA
13 Davide Ballerini ITA
14 Tim Declercq BEL
15 Mikkel Honoré DEN
16 Yves Lampaert BEL

INEOS Grenadiers

21 Ethan Hayter GBR
22 Rohan Dennis AUS
23 Owain Doull GBR
24 Michal Kwiatowski POL
25 Carlos Rodriguez ESP
26 Richie Porte AUS

Team Jumbo – Visma

31 Wout Van Aert BEL
32 George Bennett NZL
33 Chris Harper AUS
34 Pascal Eenkhoorn NED
35 Gijs Leemreize NED
36 Tony Martin GER

Caja Rural – Seguros RGA

41 Jokin Murguialday ESP
42 Jon Barrenetxea ESP
43 Josu Etxeberria ESP
44 David González ESP
45 Sergio Roman Martín ESP
46 Joel Nicolau ESP

Great Britain

51 Rhys Britton GBR
52 Robert Donaldson GBR
53 Max Rushby GBR
54 William Tidball GBR
55 Ethan Vernon GBR
56 Oliver Stockwell GBR

Global 6 Cycling

61 Tim Edvard Pettersen NOR
62 Hans Becking NED
63 Dan Erik Hansen NOR
64 James Mitri NZL
65 Michal Paluta POL
66 Nicolas Sessler BRA

Rally Cycling

71 Joey Rosskopf USA
72 Robin Carpenter USA
73 Colin Joyce USA
74 Gavin Mannion USA
75 Kyle Murphy USA
76 Nickolas Zukowsky CAN

Canyon dhb SunGod

81 Rory Townsend IRL
82 Matt Bostock GBR
83 Ryan Christensen NZL
84 Thomas Mein GBR
85 Jacob Scott GBR
86 Max Stedman GBR

Israel Start – Up Nation

91 Dan Martin IRL
92 André Greipel GER
93 Reto Holllenstein SUI
94 Mason Hollyman GBR
95 Alex Dowsett GBR
96 Michael Woods CAN

Team Arkéa – Samsic

101 Connor Swift GBR
102 Maxime Bouet FRA
104 Dan McLay GBR
105 Lukasz Owsian POL
106 Bram Welten NED

Movistar Team

111 Marc Soler ESP
112 Dario Cataldo ITA
113 Juri Hollmann GER
114 Gabriel Cullaigh GBR
115 Matteo Jorgenson USA
116 Gonzalo Serrano ESP

Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling

121 James Shaw GBR
122 Dan Bingham GBR
123 Matt Gibson GBR
124 Gruff Lewis GBR
125 Charles Page GBR
126 Simon Wilson GBR

Team DSM

131 Mark Donovan GBR
132 Romain Combaud FRA
133 Nils Eekhoff NED
134 Max Kanter GER
135 Tim Naberman NED
136 Nicholas Roche IRL

Saint Piran

141 Steve Lampier GBR
142 Ross Holland GBR
143 Oliver Maxwell GBR
144 Tom Mazzone GBR
145 Bradley Symonds GBR
146 Leon Mazzone GBR

Team Qhubeka NextHash

151 Nic Dlamini RSA
152 Carlos Barbero ESP
153 Sean Bennett USA
154 Simon Clarke AUS
155 Mauro Schmid SUI
156 Giacomo Nizzolo ITA

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling

161 Chris Latham GBR
162 Will Bjergfelt GBR
163 Ross Lamb GBR
164 Andrew Turner GBR
165 Oliver Peckover GBR
166 Alex Peters GBR


171 Thomas Gloag GBR
172 Christopher Blevins USA
173 Ben Healy IRL
174 Luke Lamperti USA
175 Rudy Porter AUS
176 Max Walker GBR