Team INEOS, Team Jumbo – Visma and Team Sunweb headline the 20 teams confirmed for this September’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain, the UK’s biggest and most prestigious cycle race.

Eleven teams fresh from competing in the Tour de France will take part in the 16th edition of the modern Tour (Saturday 7 – 14 September), including the French AG2R La Mondiale squad of Romain Bardet, who make their first appearance since 2009.

Competing teams

In total the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will welcome 10 UCI World Tour teams in 2019 including Team Dimension Data of Mark Cavendish, EF Education First Pro Cycling, Lotto Soudal, Mitchelton – SCOTT, Team KATUSHA ALPECIN and the Movistar Team who won the team classification at the Tour de France last month.

Five UCI ProContinental squads will compete, led by Corendon – Circus Cycling Team, who are already confirmed as bringing rising star Mathieu van der Poel to the race. Israel Cycling Academy will make their debut with a potential line-up including the last back-to-back stage winner in the Tour of Britain Matthias Brändle and former Irish national champion Connor Dunne.

Joining them will be Belgian squads Wanty – Gobert Cycling Team and Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise, who have both previously enjoyed riders winning jerseys in the OVO Energy Tour of Britain. The Danish Riwal Readynez Cycling Team, who impressed on British roads this spring with a stage win in the Tour de Yorkshire for Alexander Kamp, will also make their debut.

Best of British

British fans will also be able to cheer on the Great Britain cycling team once again, with the line again expected to feature the best British professionals from outside of the teams competing, combined with the next generation of home stars, such as Ethan Hayter who took four top 10 stage finishes during the 2018 race for Great Britain.

Four British UCI Continental squads will complete the field, having earned their places through a season-long qualification criteria. OVO Energy Tour Series champions Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes will be joined by Madison Genesis, Team WIGGINS Le Col and, making their race debut, SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling.

Further announcements about the provisional rider list for the OVO Energy Tour of Britain will be made throughout August.

OVO Energy Tour of Britain teams

Tour of Britain teams

AG2R La Mondiale (France)

Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes (Great Britain)

Corendon – Circus Cycling Team (Belgium)

EF Education First Pro Cycling (USA)

Great Britain Cycling Team (Great Britain)

Israel Cycling Academy (Israel)

Lotto Soudal (Belgium)

Madison Genesis (Great Britain)

Mitchelton – SCOTT (Australia)

Movistar Team (Spain)

Riwal Readynez Cycling Team (Denmark)

Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise (Belgium)

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling (Great Britain)

Team Dimension Data (South Africa)

Team INEOS (Great Britain)

Team Jumbo – Visma Cycling (Netherlands)

Team KATUSHA ALPECIN (Switzerland)

Team Sunweb (Germany)

Team WIGGINS Le Col (Great Britain)

Wanty – Gobert Cycling Team (Belgium)

Reaction to today’s news

Commenting on the announcement, Julie Harrington, Chief Executive of British Cycling, said: “There aren’t many road races outside a Grand Tour that attract such a staggering field of riders year after year, but the 2019 OVO Energy Tour of Britain is one of them.  With the hunt for the maillot jaune now wrapped up, what better way to whet the appetite for fans of our great sport than to say that those very same WorldTour and Pro Continental teams will be going wheel to wheel much closer to home, come September.

“We are now a short time away from watching the likes of Team INEOS, Mitchelton – SCOTT and Team Dimension Data doing battle on our doorstep, and with the race for British domestic team qualification at its end.

“well done to Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes, Madison Genesis, SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling and Team WIGGINS Le Col – we are soon to see just why the OVO Energy Tour of Britain is the pinnacle of British Cycling’s road racing calendar.”

Downloads and links

Click here to visit the teams hub | Click here to explore the 2019 route